Home » IPL 2021 begins in Chennai on 9 April, finals in Ahmedabad on 30 May

IPL 2021 begins in Chennai on 9 April, finals in Ahmedabad on 30 May

The Indian Premier League 2021 schedule has been announced on Sunday. The IPL season will be held in Chennai on 9 , with defending champions Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore. The final will be played on 30 May at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Last season's runners-up Delhi Capitals will start their season on 10 April against Chennai Super Kings in Mumbai. The tournament will be held in six cities – Chennai, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Delhi, Bangalore and Kolkata.

Each team will play in four of the six designated venues during the league stage, the IPL release said.

In particular, each match will be held in a neutral venue with no team scheduled to play at their home stadium.

Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata and Bengaluru will each host 10 , while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host eight matches during the league stages.

The knockout stages of the competition will be played entirely at the world's largest cricket stadium in Ahmedabad.

Under safeguards due to the coronavirus epidemic, organizers have ensured that each team has to travel only three times during the league phase.


The organizers continued, “This year the VIVO IPL at home will be played behind closed doors to begin and there will be a if spectators are allowed in the later phase of the tournament.”

The tournament will see 11 double headers, with six teams scheduled to play three afternoon matches and two teams playing two afternoon games.

Topics mentioned in this


About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment